I used to want to be just like you,
That I tried so hard to achieve it.
I thought of you as everything,
And still, I could not see it.
You weren’t this person I couldn’t trust, or the bad guy in all the stories, you were the one I’d call to first, and ended with all the glories.

I had this secret vision, and of you all I could see,
Was this super powered person, who’d do anything for me.
I believed all your excuses,
And held tight to every promise,
But my heart ended up with bruises,
And I learned the meaning of dishonest.

You aren’t the person I thought you were,
And now my eyes are open.
Those heartfelt feelings were amateur,
Because now your heart is broken.
I did not achieve what I once tried,
But I did obtain something new.
The way to push my heart aside,
I do it just like you.

S.T.


2 responses to “Just Like You”

  1. cfelt2012 Avatar
    cfelt2012

    Interesting but good. Its deep. Keep up the good work

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment