Half the night I waste in sighs,

When I think of all the sorrow.

The feeling of freedom I once had,

Was wasted on tomorrow.

I did not live to my potential,

When I had the time,

Instead, I lived too influential,

For others’ lives, instead of mine.

There once was a time where I had it all,

I beckoned to the wind

But every hero has to fall,

I learned that in the end.

You cannot live to please everyone,

Someone has to be upset;

That’s the story we all live by,

and sadly it is correct.

To live to please is not a life,

That’s what I now know,

Pleasing yourself is the life to live,

And never living in woe.

Don’t be selfish, and still be kind

that’s the way to be,

but don’t be so quick to give it all,

to try and live selflessly.

S.T.


3 responses to “Poem: Just Live”

  1. Shae Avatar
    Shae

    👍🏽

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charde Felton Avatar
    Charde Felton

    This is definitely you boo! I love it!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment