Girls with perms always making a big whoop, swinging their hair like it’s something to do. Always trying to pick a fight, you can’t tell me permed girls be like:

Hair, Hair, way down my back,

you wouldn’t be anything without my creamy crack.

So long and silky, and soft to the touch,

who wants all those naps and such.

Every two weeks, I get the boot,

and I set that cream onto my roots.

I love going to get my cream,

although it burns and makes me scream.

But when it’s rinsed out, everything’s just fine,

because it leaves my hair just so divine.

Perms, relaxers whatever your dismay,

it gets the job done at the end of the day.

Fussing and fighting over nothing, perms aren’t something natural girls are strutting. They say they know the “Good hair” way, so they just sit around and say:

Hair, hair, so big and puffy,

sometimes crinkly, sometimes curly.

You take patience and a lot of time,

but at least I know that you’re all mine.

I see the girls with the long straight hair,

you’re long too, but they don’t care.

They see my curls and call’em naps,

oh no boo boo, never that!

Healthy and strong is what you are,

no scabs or burns left from “creamy crack” scars.

Yeah its a lot of work at the end of the day,

but I know it’s worth it all the way.

Girls everywhere should enjoy their hair, no matter if its silky straight, or coiled to the root. Pay tribute to what you have, and coming from someone who’ve experienced them both, they each are a lot of work. Healthy hair is good hair regardless of its texture, but we all know at the end of the day, the weave is taking over.

S.T.


4 responses to “Poem: Hair Tribute (Perm v. Natural)”

  1. Shae Avatar
    Shae

    I couldn’t help but laugh at this 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Malissa Brooke Avatar
    Malissa Brooke

    Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. imaginattionworks Avatar

      Thank you !! 😄

      Like

Leave a comment